• Innovation and Research
  • Faculty
  • School of Medicine
Accolades & Honors

4 Pitt physicians will be honored by the National Pancreas Foundation

A bronze Panther statue

Four University of Pittsburgh researchers will be recognized for their research and work with patients by the National Pancreas Foundation at its Pittsburgh Courage for a Cure Gala.

Anna Evans Phillips, assistant professor in Pitt’s School of Medicine, will receive the organization’s Rising Star Award for her research on pain in chronic pancreatitis. Phillips (MED ’10G, ’18G) has previously received the Young Investigator Award and the Young Investigator Grant Award from the American Pancreatic Association.

David Whitcomb will receive the Legacy Award for his lifetime of contributions to pancreas research. Whitcomb, who joined Pitt’s faculty in 1991, is a professor of medicine, cell biology and physiology, and human genetics. He also directs the Center for Genomic Studies and is chief of UPMC’s Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition.

Dhiraj Yadav, professor of medicine, and Amer Zureikat, professor of surgery, will both receive the Courage in Pancreatitis and Pancreatic Cancer Award. A fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association, Yadav is also associate chief of clinic research and academic development for the Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition. Zureikat is Dr. Bernard F. Fisher Chair in the School of Medicine as well as director of surgical oncology for the UPMC Hillman Cancer Center.

The gala is Oct. 6 at PNC Park. Visit the event website to learn more.