Senior Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences and Dean of the School of Medicine: Search

Following the announcement that Dr. Arthur S. Levine will step down as senior vice chancellor for the health sciences and John and Gertrude Petersen Dean of the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, the University is conducting a search for his successor.

Please review the position profile (PDF).



Application and Nominations

The University has retained the national executive search firm Isaacson, Miller to assist in the search. All inquiries, nominations, referrals and applications should be sent in confidence to:

John Isaacson, Chair
Ariannah Mirick, Partner
Stephanie Fidel, Partner
Randi Alberry, Senior Associate


Search Committee

Ann E. Cudd (Chair)
Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor
Professor of Philosophy
Steven D. Shapiro, MD (Vice Chair)
Executive Vice President, UPMC
Chief Medical and Scientific Officer
President, Health Services Division
Distinguished Professor of Medicine,
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Ivet Bahar
Distinguished Professor and John K Vries Chair, Department of Computational and Systems Biology
Jeremy Berg
Associate Senior Vice Chancellor for Science Strategy and Planning, Health Sciences
Professor of Computational and Systems Biology
Jan Beumer
Pharmaceutical Sciences
Jeanine Buchanich
Research Associate Professor,
Department of Biostatistics
Vaughn S. Clagette MD, MBA
Trustee, University of Pittsburgh
Bernard J Costello DMD, MD
Professor and Dean, School of Dental Medicine
Anthony Delitto
Dean, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Samuel J. Dienel
Graduate Student Researcher,
Department of Psychiatry
Jacqueline Dunbar-Jacob, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
Distinguished Service Professor and Dean, School of Nursing
Professor of Psychology, Epidemiology, and Occupational Therapy
Thistle Elias
Assistant Professor, Behavioral and Community Health Sciences
Christian Fernandez
Assistant Professor, Department of
Pharmaceutical Sciences
Olivera J. Finn
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Immunology
Zachary Freyberg, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Cell Biology
Vicki Gamble
Academic Operations Manager,
Department of Medicine
Arjumand Ghazi
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Developmental
Biology, Cell Biology and Physiology
Pooja Humar
Undergraduate/Professional Student Representative
Naudia L. Jonassaint
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Surgery,
Vice Chair Diversity and Inclusion
M. Kathleen Kelly
Vice-Chair, Department of Physical Therapy
Beatriz Luna
Staunton Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics
William J. Madden
Associate Senior Vice Chancellor for Administration, Health Sciences
Mary L. Marazita, PhD
Director, Center for Craniofacial and Dental Genetics;
Professor, Oral Biology, Human Genetics and Clinical and Translational Sciences
James R. Martin
U.S. Steel Dean of Engineering
Jose Alain Sahel
Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Pittsburgh
Exceptional Class Professor at Sorbonne Université, Paris
Inderpal (Netu) Sarkaria, MD, FACS
Vice Chair, Clinical Affairs, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Director, Thoracic Robotic Surgery
Co-Director, Esophageal & Lung Surgery Institute
Co-Director, Thoracic Quality and Outcomes
Elizabeth A. Schlenk, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor, School of Nursing
Mark Shlomchik, MD, PhD
UMPC Endowed and Distinguished Professor and Chair
Department of Immunology
Sanjeev Shroff
Distinguished Professor and
McGinnis Chair in Bioengineering
Jack D. Smith, MD


Open Forums and Community Feedback Survey

Early in the search, the search committee held a series of open forums so University community members could share input about this role. The first open forum was held on June 4 in the Public Health Auditorium. View a livestream of the forum.
Additional forums took place on:
Wednesday, June 12
Scaife Hall, Lecture Room 6
View a livestream of the forum.
Friday, June 21
Scaife Hall, Lecture Room 6
View a livestream of the forum.
The Pitt community is also invited to share feedback through this survey.