• Swanson School of Engineering
  • Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Geology and Environmental Science
  • Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Accolades & Honors

2021 Sustainability Champions Named

Twenty-five members of the University community have been selected as Pitt Sustainability Champions in recognition of their leadership and commitment to sustainability in 2021. 

They are:

  • Undergraduate students, all from the Class of 2021: Hannah Chen, Department of Health Information Management; Anna Coleman, Global Studies; Julianna Cooper, Department of Geology and Environmental Science, Department of Political Science in the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences; Maya Knee, Department of French and Italian, Department of Political Science; and Zachary Delaney, Sydney DuBose, Anfernee La Cruz, Liz Logan, Gabrielle Sampson and Louis Tierno, all of the Department of Geology and Environmental Science.
  • Graduate students: Eric Raabe, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, CONNECT; Jessica Vaden, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Swanson School of Engineering; and Kelsey Wolfe, Department of Administrative and Policy Studies, Office of PittServes.
  • Faculty: Tony Kerzmann, associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, Swanson School of Engineering.
  • Staff: Kimberly Barlow, Office of University Communications and Marketing; Caitlin Courtney, Timothy Howland and William Parker, all of Pitt Eats; Joshua Jones, Department of Chemistry; Will Mitchell, Facilities Management; Kristin Olexa, Purchasing Services; Monica Rattigan, University Store on Fifth; Meagan Sotirokos, Maggie & Stella’s; and Ciara Stehley and Dez Stuart of the Office of PittServes.

Winners were selected by a review team, based on nominations by members of the Pitt community. The 25 awardees will be acknowledged during the April 23 Spring Sustainability Symposium and will receive a sustainability care package and an award made of reclaimed wood in recognition of their achievement.