Minutes of December 12, 1996 Meeting

	The meeting convened at 2:07 p.m. in room 817 Cathedral of

	UPBC members present were: Toni Carbo, Richard Colwell, James
DeAngelis, James Maher, Josephine Olson, Richard Pratt, Arthur Ramicone,
Peter Shane, Alec Stewart, Michael Stuckart, Brian Ulery, Susan Whitney,
Bruce Williams, and Philip Wion.  Also present were: Jeffrey Liebmann.
Jeffrey Masnick, and Robert Pack.
	UPBC members not present were: Mary Ann Barber, James Cassing,
Jerome Cochran, Thomas Detre, Ingrid Glasco, Brian Hart, Keith McDuffie,
Linda Messineo, Margaret Rechter, Jeffrey Romoff, and Ellen Beam Rudy.

Approval of Minutes

	The minutes of the November 25, 1996 UPBC meeting were approved.

Presentation on the Future of Academic Medical Centers

	The Committee viewed a videotape of an address by Senior Vice
Chancellor for Health Administration Jeffrey Romoff to the faculty of the
School of Medicine on November 15, 1995 entitled "The Transformation of
the Academic Medical Center: The Managed Care Market Place and the Future
of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center."  The presentation
focussed on trends in the health care industry, factors that academic
medical centers must address in order to be successful in the new
environment, and how the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center has
responded to these trends.

Matters Arising

	Pack stated that a meeting with Senate officers on the proposed
tenured faculty retirement plan resulted in an agreement to create a
structure that would facilitate review of the proposal in early 1997.  The
proposal currently consists of a structure and a set of issues involved in
the establishment of a permanent program.
	Wion reported that the Revenue and Cost Attribution
Methodology and Study may be completed by the end of January 1997.  One
significant change in this year's report will be the treatment of the
Commonwealth appropriation as a subvention, rather than attempting to
attribute these funds according to units' student credit hour

	The meeting adjourned at 4:08 p.m.