::: about
::: news
::: links
::: giving
::: contact

::: calendar
::: lunchtime
::: annual lecture series
::: conferences

::: visiting fellows
::: postdoc fellows
::: senior fellows
::: resident fellows
::: associates

::: visiting fellowships
::: postdoc fellowships
::: senior fellowships
::: resident fellowships
::: associateships

being here
::: visiting
::: the last donut
::: photo album

::: center home >> events >> conferences >> 2018-19 >>Early Career HPP

Center for Philosophy of Science
1117 Cathedral of Learning
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA USA

The event will immediately precede a workshop on Quantum Field Theories, taking place on April 12-13, 2019.



The history and philosophy of physics is an intellectually diverse field which has become increasingly engaged with issues of interest to contemporary practicing physicists.
One of the driving forces of this intellectual diversity has been early career philosophers, historians, and physicists exploring topics of foundational import in a broad range of subfields of physics, such as cosmology and astrophysics, particle physics, quantum gravity, and condensed matter physics, in addition to more traditional issues in nonrelativistic quantum mechanics and spacetime physics. In several cases, historians and philosophers have contributed directly to methodological debates taking place within the physics community. This workshop aims to bring together early career scholars in the history and philosophy of physics working on these and related topics.

Keynote Speaker:
Laura Ruetsche, University of Michigan

Organizing Committee:

Kerry McKenzie (UCSD)
Casey McCoy (Edinburgh)
Michael Miller (Toronto)
Laura Ruetsche (Michigan)
Jennifer Whyte (Pittsburgh)
Porter Williams (USC)

For more info:
Cheryl Greer cmg84@pitt.edu


Sponsored by the Center for Philosophy of Science











Revised 4/9/19 - Copyright 2010