Advisory Council on Instructional Excellence


ACIE award recipients

Past ACIE award recipients.


The Advisory Council on Instructional Excellence (ACIE) advises the Provost on the means to encourage instructional development and teaching excellence at the University of Pittsburgh. It realizes these goals through the sponsorship of special programming and the disposition of grants to faculty members seeking funding for curricular- and technology-driven proposals to advance instructional development and teaching excellence. Provost James V. Maher established the Council in 1998 and chaired the Council during the 1998-99 academic year. The Council is currently chaired by Laurie Kirsch, Vice Provost for Faculty Development.

See below for a sample of some of the faculty projects funded by the Innovation in Education awards program:

Neal Benedict

Pharmacy and Therapeutics: Innovative Instructional Approach to Foster Self-Directed Learning.

Lydia Daniels

Biological Sciences: Losing the Lecture: Student-Centered, Inquiry-Based Learning in an Entry-Level Biology Course.

Joshua Dunkleberger & Berrylin Ferguson

Learning with Nasal Anatomy Simulation.